h1

Make My Day

09/02/2012

As I’ve gotten older, I have come to the conclusion that one of the keys to successful navigation of everyday life is the ability to focus effectively. When it comes to housework, that means narrowing down the endless list to a few vital things that must get done each day. When it comes to my blogging, it means concentrating on a few ideas instead of trying to tackle everything.

As I said previously, I have been happy to concentrate on local politics and ignore the presidential race. Don’t get me wrong, I still read articles (LOL, or the majority of articles) online but I try not to get caught up in the back and forth of the party faithful. Unfortunately, that leads to metaphorical head slaps like I received yesterday when I saw a link posted by a friend on Facebook.

I’m not going to analyze it here but, if you read it, you will see that it casts serious aspersions on the actions of President Obama. Criticisms that I have also made in the past. Although they are serious accusations and I urge you to take a look, I really can’t say that they are enough to sway my vote. After the GOP lie-fest in Tampa, I don’t think anything would ever sway me to the dark side.

But then there was the Clint Eastwood “speech” that just about put things over the top. Now stage props are a part of every actors arsenal but an empty chair just leaves too much to the imagination. As I watched the video, what I was really doing was imagining myself in that chair. As I heard an old bumbling man lecture me, all I could think of was, “STFU”! If all you can think of is to tell someone what they can do with themselves, I’d almost rather go back to the non-stop lying of the other speakers. The GOP definitely “made my day” by demonstrating loud and clear that not only can’t they even lie well, they are going to have a hard time limping to the finish line with one foot in their mouth.
Leave a Reply

